Criminal Defence

CPH Legal has a special focus on criminal litigation. We often directly act as defence counsel for our clients in criminal trials. Our Principal Solicitor, Mr. Eric P H Chan, also serves as a fiat prosecutor briefed by the Department of Justice, who occasionally represents the Hong Kong Government in Court to prosecute criminal cases.

Our legal team has represented clients in handling cases involving the Commercial Crime Bureau of the Hong Kong Police Force (CCB), Hong Kong Immigration Department, Hong Kong Customs and Excise Department, Independent Commission Against Corruption (ICAC) and Securities and Futures Commission of Hong Kong (SFC). We handle cases in all stages, including investigation, arrest, bail, mention hearing in Court, applying for Offer No Evidence Bindover (O.N.E. Bindover), Pre-Trial Review (PTR), Trial, and Appeal to the High Court and the Court of Final Appeal.

We tailor-make criminal defence plans for our clients having due regard to their needs and budget. Our legal team can represent our clients as defence counsel in Magistrates Courts and the District Court with or without instructing a barrister. In appropriate cases, we can further instruct Counsel or Senior Counsel (SC), whose experiences and seniorities correspond to our clients’ need, to appear in the High Court, the Court of Appeal, the Court of Final Appeal and various levels of Court.

Selected Cases

  • In a wounding causing grievous bodily harm (wounding 19) case, our Principal Solicitor Mr. Chan as trial counsel successfully persuaded the Court to rule inadmissible a cautioned confession statement given by a client, which ultimately led to the client's acquittal.

  • Mr. Chan also appeared in Court as the defence counsel in a common assault case. He drew to the Court's attention that the prosecution witness's testimony was illogical and contradictory to the footage of CCTV. The client was acquitted after the trial.

  • In two criminal cases involving police's operation using undercover agents, we instructed Senior Counsel and Counsel to appear as defence counsel for the clients, and successfully persuaded the Court to rule that the Cautioned Statements where the clients confessed were made under threats and hence involuntary. Eventually, the Court ruled that these confessions were inadmissible as evidence. The clients were acquitted after trial.

  • We represented a client in a money-laundering case that involved nearly around HK$100 million. Upon settlement with the party involved, which was a listed company on Nasdaq, and after negotiation with the Hong Kong Police Force Commercial Crime Bureau (CCB), the client was released unconditionally with the $200,000 bail money returned.

Types of cases CPH Legal have handled for defence or for prosecution:

  • Assault cases, including common assault, assault occasioning actual bodily harm & grievous bodily harm, fighting in a public place and possession of an offensive weapon etc.;
  • Crimes involving dishonesty such as theft, fraud, and obtaining property by deception etc.;
  • Sexual offences such as rape, indecent assault, unlawful intercourse with a mentally incapacitated person, acts outraging public decency, soliciting for an immoral purpose etc.;
  • Perverting the Course of Public Justice;
  • Crimes involving drugs;
  • Crimes involving Independent Commission Against Corruption (ICAC) and Prevention of Bribery Ordinance;
  • Cases involving Security and Futures Commission of Hong Kong (SFC);
  • Money laundering;
  • Cases involving Organised Crime and Triad Bureau (OCTB) of the Hong Kong Police Force.

"I highly recommend Mr. Eric P H Chan. He is highly professional and determined and a great lawyer. I still remember his eloquent advocacy in Court, and how he fought for my case. " (Translated)

If you or a family member are now involved in a criminal case and wish to obtain urgent legal advice and/or representation in Court, you can contact our WhatsApp hotline 6103 0006 or email us to set up a free WhatsApp consultation.

en_GBEN

刑事抗辯

本行律師擅長處理刑事訴訟,我們的律師團隊是香港為數不多經常親自代表客戶在刑事審訊 (Trial) 出庭抗辯的事務律師。本行主任陳柏豪律師亦為香港律政司外聘檢控官,不時代表香港政府親自出庭檢控刑事案件。

本行律師團隊曾代表當事人處理香港警察 (重案組及商業罪案調查科等),香港入境處,香港海關,廉政公署 (ICAC),及證監會 (SFC) 等案件,處理包括從調查階段,拘捕及保釋,提堂,不提證供起訴自簽守行為 (ONE Bindover),審前覆核 (PTR),審訊 (Trial),以至上訴 (Appeal)至高等法院及終審法院的法律事宜及代表出庭。

視乎刑事案件的當事人的需要與預算,本行可制定合適的刑事抗辯方案。本行律師團隊可親自代表客戶在裁判法案及區域法院出庭抗辯而無需另外延聘大律師。如情況合適,本行亦可在高等法院,上訴庭,終審法院,及其他各級法院的刑事案件為當事人延聘合適經驗及年資的大律師或資深大律師 (Senior Counsel)。

精選案例

  • 本行主任陳柏豪律師曾在一宗「傷人或對他人身體加以嚴重傷害」(俗稱 “傷人19” )案件中,親自代表被告人作為出庭辯護律師,盤問下成功動搖了控方證人 (包括調查警員) 的可信性,成功遊說法庭裁決被告在警署被利誘下認罪的警誡供詞不能呈堂,並在審訊後判決無罪釋放。

  • 陳柏豪律師亦曾在一宗普通襲擊案件中親自代表當事人出庭抗辯,向法庭指出閉路電視 (CCTV) 片段顯示的事發經過與控方證人口供的矛盾與不合邏輯之處,當事人在審訊後獲判無罪釋放。

  • 本行律師團隊在兩宗涉及警察臥底任務的刑事案件中,代表當事人延聘資深大律師及大律師抗辯,成功遊說法庭裁決被告在警署被威迫下認罪的警誡供詞不能呈堂,並在審訊後判決無罪釋放。

  • 本行律師團隊曾在牽涉接近一億港元的洗黑錢案件中代表被捕人,在與牽涉案件的某美國納斯達克 (Nasdaq) 上市的科技公司的法律代表達成和解後,與香港警察商業罪案調查科 (CCB) 代表談判及跟進,讓當事人獲無條件釋放並退還超過20萬元的保釋金

  • 本行律師團隊曾為多位當事人成功遊說代表控方的律政司檢控官接受以不提證供起訴自簽守行為 (ONE Bindover)方式處理刑事案件,當事人只需在法庭承諾守行為而無需留案底。

以下是本行律師團隊曾為辯方或控方處理的部分案件種類:

  • 涉及傷人的案件例如傷人或對他人身體加以嚴重傷害罪及普通襲擊,公眾場所打鬥,藏有攻擊性武器等;
  • 涉及誠信的罪行例如盜竊罪,欺詐罪,以欺詐手段獲得財產等;
  • 涉及性罪行的案件例如強姦,猥褻侵犯(非禮),與無精神行為能力人士性交,作出有違公德的行為,為不道德目的而唆使他人等;
  • 妨礙司法公正罪行;
  • 涉及毒品的案件;
  • 涉及廉政公署 (ICAC)及防止賄賂條例的罪行;
  • 涉及證監會 (SFC) 的案件;
  • 涉及洗黑錢 (Money laundering) 的罪行;
  • 涉及香港警察有組織罪案及三合會調查科 (OCTB,俗稱”O記”) 的案件等。

「我本人誠意推薦陳柏豪律師,他是一個十分專業有決心和堅定的好律師,我還清楚記得他雄辯滔滔的技巧和應變能力,相信在他的字典裏是沒有不可能的。」​

如你或家人朋友不幸成為刑事案件被告,而希望經驗豐富的刑事律師給予緊急的法律意見,以及在各級法院抗辯或上訴,可以聯絡本行的Whatsapp熱線 6103 0006或電郵本行安排免費WhatsApp諮詢。

zh_HKHK