How to deal with anxiety when facing criminal charges?

CPH Legal handles a large number of criminal cases, including first offenders in theft (shoplifting), common assault, possession of a dangerous drug cases, who wish toapply for O.N.E. bind-overas well as cases where the defendants are facing serious charges and wish to contest the case or plead guilty for a more lenient sentence. All of these clients share one common characteristic: they are feeling worried.

Especially for clients who have a clear record (no criminal record), who committed the offence out of impulsiveness or momentary greed, who have a good personal background: good academic background, long-term career, stable family life or even holding professional qualifications or working as a civil servant, they are worried that a criminal record might ruin their entire life, they might be fired and all of their hard work in life would go down the drain.

It is perfectly normal for a litigant in a criminal case to feel nervous and worried. For a criminal lawyer, going to the police station to bail out clients, or assisting in the charge procedure, attending Court, defending a client or putting forward a mitigation plea is practically daily routine. However, for clients client, every part of the criminal procedure is novel to them and bears significant weight which could have profound and long-lasting impact on their life.

Apart from instructingthe most suitable legal teamand safeguarding his or her own legal rights, it is equally important for defendants in criminal cases to adjust their mentality.

Why shouldn't you over worry for your criminal case?

As mentioned above, being worried is understandable and justified. An appropriate level of nervousness can motivate the litigant to actively learn and understand more about the procedure and proactively prepare the case with the legal team.

However, if you are feeling nervous all day long, such as searching for information or news related to your case all the time, attempting to analyse the case law on your own, considering countless possibilities, feeling frightened about the risk of losing your job, or being disqualified, is counterproductive. Feeling worried itself does not help the case, and it makes you feel depressed, which affects your academic and job performance and worsens your relationship with your family.

How to adjust your mindset to be less worried?

American writer Dale Carnegie proposed in his book “How to Stop Worrying and Start Living” that you could do the follows:

  1. Focused on today. Although we should all plan ahead in life, we should not regret or worry too much about yesterday and tomorrow. Live in today, and focus on what you can do today (for example, study hard, work work, spend time with families and friends, and even communicate with your lawyer etc.), and try your best to do better in these things.
  2. Understand the worst situation and be mentally prepared for the worst scenario, such as having a criminal record, a short-term imprisonment, losing your job, disqualification, being unable to migrate to another country, etc.
  3. Mentally accept the worst outcome first. This is as bad as things could get. Even if you would get a criminal record, it does not necessarily affect your career as badly as you might think. Even if it does, there can be a fresh start if you work hard and find other career opportunities. Even if imprisonment is expected, a fresh start will begin on the day that you are released from jail and you could work hard and start afresh from there.
  4. After accepting the worst outcome,calmlyimprove the worst result, such as actively work with your lawyer, collect favourable evidence, prepare the case according to your lawyer’s advice etc., in order to minimise the possibility of the worst outcome coming true.
  5. Remind yourself that over-worrying does no good as “worrying” itself does not improve anything. Focus on today. Carpe diem!

We face countless uncertainties throughout our lives, be they criminal cases, pressure from examination and job, financial difficulties, disputes with family, diseases, and other unfortunate events.

We regret over the unsatisfactory past and worry about the uncertain future. It is unavoidable and understandable.

However, the best solution in life is to remind ourselves not to over-worry. Seize the day and live in the present.

Although this is easier said than done, it's so important that we should endeavour to be able to do just that, as it has a profound impact on our quality of life, if we set out to live a happy and productive life.

en_GBEN

為刑事案件感到憂慮 該怎麼辦?

CPH Legal陳柏豪律師事務所處理大量刑事案件,其中從初犯店舖盜竊、普通襲擊、藏毒而希望申請自簽守行為,到干犯重案而抗辯或希望認罪求情輕判的當事人,往往都有一大共通點:感受到無比憂慮。

尤其是本身無案底的當事人,因一時貪心或一時衝動蒙蔽理智而干犯刑事罪行,部份更有極其良好的個人背景:良好學歷,長期工作,穩定家庭生活,甚至擁有專業資格或任職政府公務員等,更會憂慮案底甚至監禁會徹底摧毀自己前途,失去工作,令多年來的努力毀於一旦。

當事人一定會為刑事案件感到憂慮,這亦是人之常情。對刑事律師而言,到警署保釋,落案,到法庭提堂,抗辯,認罪求情等程序是家常便飯,但對當事人而言每一個程序都是可能改寫人生的大事。

其實,除了聘用最合適的律師團隊以保障自己的權益,並在合法情況下盡量將刑事案件的結果往有利的方向發展,當事人亦需調整心態。

為甚麼不應為刑事案件感到過分憂慮?

正如以上所講,擔心是人之常情而在所難免的。適當的擔心,亦會令當事人有動力了解更多相關的法律於程序,以及積極尋求合適的律師團隊的協助。

但正如面對人生眾多未知之事,時刻感到過分憂慮,例如每天從早到晚不停地搜尋相關資訊,嘗試自行分析相關案例,以及考慮過多的可能性,害怕失去工作甚至被停牌等。然而,「憂慮」本身除了不會對案件有大幫助以外,亦會令自己長期感到憂鬱,影響學業或工作,亦影響與家人的關係,可謂有百害而無一利。

面對刑事案件,如何改善心態避免過分憂慮?

如希望不再感到過分憂慮,可考慮參考美國著名作家戴爾·卡內基 (Dale Carnegie)在《How to Stop Worrying and Start Living》書中提出的5步心態:

  1. 專注「今日」- 人當然應該計劃未來,但不要為過去及明天的事情時常沉醉於後悔或憂慮之中。努力活好「今日」,專注今日可以做的事情(例如努力讀書,工作,與家人及朋友相處的時間,甚至與律師溝通等),並把這些事情做得更好。
  2. 了解假如案件往最壞方向發展,最壞結果會是如何:例如留案底,短期監禁,喪失工作,停牌,可能不能移民等。
  3. 心理上必須接受這個最壞結果:最壞不過如此,而即使有了案底,未必一定影響工作,而即使影響工作,只要努力也可以找到其他工作從新開始,甚至假如監禁,也有出獄的一天,一樣可以從新開始。
  4. 當接受了最壞結果後,冷靜地改善「最壞」情況,意思是與律師積極配合,蒐集有利證據,按律師指示準備案件等,從而減低最壞結果實現的風險。
  5. 提醒自己過分憂慮有害無利,反正「擔心」本身也不會改善情況。擔心未來,不如活好現在。

人的一生,難免面對眾多不確定事件,可能包括刑事案件官非,以至讀書考試及工作的壓力,對金錢的憂慮,與家人相處的糾紛,疾病,甚至其他更不幸事件。

人會後悔未如人意的「過去」,亦會擔心可能堪憂的「未來」,實在在所難免,畢竟人非草木。

然而,唯有時刻提醒自己不要過份擔心,活在當下,冷靜理性處理好每日事情,方為人生短期及長期的最佳對策。

此看似顯淺道理,但知易行難,性格決定命運,實為人生大事,不可不察。

zh_HKHK