How to claim for compensation after getting injured at a traffic accident?

0 +
Traffic accidents per year in Hong Kong
0 +
Injuries and deaths involved

On average, there are more than 10,000 traffic accidents and 20,000 counts of injuries and deaths in Hong Kong every year. If the traffic accident is caused by a driver’s negligence, the injured or the deceased’s family members can claim against the driver and his third-party insurance company, and (if the driver was working at the time of the accident) the employer of the driver by virtue of vicarious liability.

If the injured person encountered the traffic accident in the course of employment, the injured could also instruct a solicitorto claim against his own employer under the Employees’ Compensation Ordinance.

Quite often, the injured persons and their families have never experienced a traffic accident, nor have they handled litigation or instructed a lawyer before, they may have various misunderstandings about traffic accident related personal injuries claims. Some of them are even misled by unlawful “recovery agents” who sometimes hold themselves out as loss adjusters, and lose their right to claim for compensation due to wrong or improper advice.

After a traffic accident, the injured person and their family should take the following steps:

  1. Report to the police;
  2. As some symptoms may not appear immediately, the injured should visit a doctor to receive treatment and diagnosis ASAP;
  3. Provide a witness statement to the police (Pol. 154);
  4. Seek advice from and meet with a solicitor (lawyer) to learn about the claims procedure, and to obtain medical reports and police documents via the solicitors;
  5. Instruct a solicitor to write and send out a pre-action letter to the negligent driver, the driver's third-party insurance company, and the employer of the negligent driver (if applicable);
  6. If the negligent driver or his third-party insurer is willing to admit liability, your solicitor will conduct one or multiple rounds of negotiation on compensation with them;
  7. If the negligent occupier denies liability or no settlement is reached on the amount of compensation, you, the injured, may wish to file a claim in the District Court or the High Court via your Solicitor.

It is noteworthy that some injuries caused by traffic accidents may not appear immediately, especially injuries related to cervical spine, fracture of bones, psychological illnesses such as post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD) etc. Therefore, it is most advisable to receive prompt medical treatment and proper diagnosis, as it could also affect the possible amount of compensation when you do lodge a claim against the negligent driver.

In traffic accident personal injuries claims, compensation is generally divided into the following categories:

  1. Pain, Suffering and Loss of Amenities (PSLA);
  2. Loss of income and loss of earning capacity;
  3. Special Damages such as medical expenses etc.

Generally speaking, the expected amount of compensation will be assessed by your lawyers with reference to case law. For example, our lawyers acted for a client who suffered from a fracture because of a traffic accident and he received over $600,000 in compensation. Given that each case has different fact-patterns, and the injured person may suffer from distinct and different injuries, there can be no standard formula of expected compensation. Our lawyers will conduct a detailed assessment and analysis for each and every client.

Furthermore, our Principal Solicitor,Eric P H Chanhave years of experience inacting as a fiat prosecutor for the Department of Justice and in criminal defence,and has prosecuted and defended cases involving careless driving on a great number of occasions. Therefore, he is familiar with the relevant criminal procedure and the police's investigation process. Building on these experiences, we are able to possess a unique point of view in helping our injured clients in their personal injuries claims, and proactively follow up with the police and continuously pay attention to the prosecution progress.

Traffic Accident Personal Injuries Claims - Do's and Dont's

交通意外索償常見問題

If you or your family member/friend have been injured in an accident, and the accident was caused by the negligence of another party, you can consult us for free via our WhatsApp hotline 6103 0006 or email us to set up a free telephone consultation.

en_GBEN

交通意外後受傷,應如何索償?

0 +
香港每年交通意外數字
0 +
涉及傷亡人數

香港每年平均有超過10,000宗交通意外,其中牽涉超過20,000傷亡人數。假如交通意外成因是因為其中一位涉事司機的疏忽,傷者或死者的家屬可能可以向相關司機、他們的第三者保險公司、以及(如司機當時在工作) 僱用他們的公司索償。

假如傷者當時在工作期間,傷者亦同時可以由律師代表根據《僱員補償條例》向僱主索償

絕大部分傷者或家屬都沒有遭遇交通意外的經驗,亦沒有打官司或聘請律師的經驗,以致他們存在不少誤解,錯信了違法的索償代理或所謂「公證行」的評估,而放棄或喪失了索償的權利。

交通意外後受傷,傷者及其家屬需要做以下事情:

  1. 在安全情況下立即報警;
  2. 盡快接受醫生診治及治療,因部分症狀未必立刻浮現;
  3. 向警察錄取證人口供 (Pol. 154);
  4. 與律師會面,了解索償程序並由律師代表索取醫療報告及警方文件;
  5. 由律師撰寫律師信予對方司機,第三者保險公司,及僱用他們的公司等;
  6. 如對方承認責任,由律師與對方司機,第三者保險公司,及僱用他們的公司等就賠償金額進行一輪或多輪談判;
  7. 如對方不承認責任,或就賠償金額未能達成共識,考慮入稟區域法院或高等法院索償。

值得留意是,很多時候交通意外引起的傷勢,未必即時浮現,例如一些涉及頸椎,骨裂,甚至因意外引起的心理症狀如創傷後遺症 PTSD等。因此,獲得及時的治療及檢查,尤為重要,這亦影響到將來索償時可能獲取的賠償金額。

在交通意外索償案件中,賠償金額一般分為幾個項目:

  1. 痛楚及生活便利損失 (PSLA);
  2. 收入及將來工作能力的損失 (Loss of income and loss of earning capacity);
  3. 特別賠償 (Special Damages,即醫療費用等)。

賠償額需要由律師翻查案例評估,例如本行律師之前處理一宗牽涉行人過馬路被撞的案件,傷者因意外骨裂,取得超過60萬的賠償。當然,每宗案件牽涉的案情以及傷者的情況各有不同,不能一概而論,而本行律師會為每一位當事人進行詳細評估及分析。

另外,本行主任陳柏豪律師有多年擔任律政司外聘檢控官及刑事律師的經驗,經手檢控與抗辯「不小心駕駛」等案件數以百計,熟悉刑事程序及警方處理案件的流程。憑著這些經驗,我們往往有獨到的觀點協助意外索償的傷者,協助傷者與警方積極跟進案件以及了解檢控進度。

交通意外索償 應做與不應做的事

交通意外索償常見問題

如你或家人朋友不幸成為交通意外傷者,而交通意外成因是對方司機的疏忽,可以聯絡本行的Whatsapp熱線 6103 0006或電郵本行安排免費諮詢。

zh_HKHK