Theft as a crime in Hong Kong

0 +
Theft cases per year
0 +
Shoplifting cases per year

In Hong Kong, there are numerous theft cases being heard in Courts every day. As per the statistics provided by the Hong Kong Police Force, there are around 15,000 theft cases every year.

Theft may well be one of the oldest crime in human history. Legally speaking, a major element of this crime is a "dishonest" intent. In layman's terms, theft is caused by greed.

If you are charged with Theft, can you get away with it and not have a criminal record?

A most common form of theft is shoplifting (stealing in shops). CPH Legal handles a vast number of shoplifting cases. In cases involving relatively less severe facts,it is possible to apply via a lawyer to the DOJ for a O.N.E. Bindover order,and if successful, you will "get away" without getting a criminal record.

However, due to the prevalence of shoplifting, when you apply for a O.N.E. Bindover order, it is most important that your lawyer should set out in detail your otherwise good background and the circumstances leading up to your commission of the offence.

Common circumstances include:

  • Momentary greed
  • Waiting in a checkout queue for too long and decided to walk out of the shop
  • Financial hardship such as unemployment or mortgage payments
  • Work-related stress
  • Study-related stress
  • Psychological issues such as depression
  • Family issues

While the above are not defences, they are difficult personal circumstances leading up to your commission of theft and if the prosecutor sympathises with you, the prosecutor may exercise a discretion and agree to the O.N.E. Bindover treatment as allowed under the Prosecution Code.

Is having forgotten to pay a good reason for O.N.E. Bindover?

Having forgotten to pay is a defence because it means that you did not have any dishonest intent.

However, if you, under caution, explained to the police that you merely forgot to pay, prosecutors tend not to agree to O.N.E. Bindover, because you have denied the offence.

A major condition for the O.N.E. Bindover order is that you must admit to the prosecution's facts in Court, namely you did steal the unpaid items. It poses technical difficulties if you maintain that you simply forgot to pay.

That being said, if your lawyer is able to provide a plausible explanation or even provide strong evidence to the prosecution, then it is still possible to dispose of the case by way of O.N.E. Bindover, or even what is known as straight O.N.E. such that the prosecution would directly withdraw the charge.

If the prosecution still does not agree to O.N.E. Bindover, you still have a chance to plead not guilty in Court and contest the case. You may testify in Court or your lawyer may make submissions that you simply forgot to pay and if the Court accepts your defence that you would be acquitted.

If you or a family member are facing a theft charge, and wish to obtain urgent legal advice, apply for O.N.E. Bindover, and/or representation in Court, you can contact our WhatsApp hotline 6103 0006 or email us to set up a free WhatsApp consultation.

en_GBEN

盜竊罪專題

0 +
每年盜竊罪數字
0 +
每年店舖盜竊數字

在香港這個彈丸之地,每日有不少盜竊罪案件在法庭審理。根據香港警方數字,每年約有大概15,000宗盜竊罪個案。

盜竊罪可能是人類歷史最悠久的罪行之一。而法理上,盜竊罪的一大關鍵定罪元素是 「不誠實意圖」。在人性上,盜竊罪源於一個 「貪」 字。

干犯店舖盜竊可以不留案底嗎?

在盜竊罪中,最常見的類別是店舖盜竊。陳柏豪律師事務所處理大量店舖盜竊案件,在案情相對輕微的,有機會向控方申請自簽守行為(又稱簽保守行為)而無需留案底。

然而,因店舖盜竊(俗稱高賣)的猖獗而導致不少店家損失慘重,申請自簽守行為時必須在律師的信件中詳細個人背景以及犯案的苦衷,才有機會讓檢控官方面考慮酌情以自簽守行為方式處理而不留案底。

常見的店舖盜竊的犯案苦衷有:

  • 一時貪心
  • 排隊結帳輪候太久而直接離開
  • 經濟困難例如失業或供樓壓力
  • 工作壓力
  • 學業壓力
  • 情緒病例如抑鬱症
  • 家庭不和睦

雖然以上均不是店舖盜竊的抗辯理由,但均屬於一些苦衷或犯案理由,可以盡量博取檢控官同情而可能根據《檢控守則》的指引酌情以守行為方式處理。

 

忘記付款是否申請自簽守行為的好理由?

忘記付款是常見的抗辯理由,原因是忘記付款的話,被告並沒有不誠實意圖。

然而,假如在警誡下被告的解釋是忘記付款的話,檢控官通常不會接受以自簽守行為方式處理案件,原因是被告否認控罪。

自簽守行為的一大條件,是被告必須在庭上承認控方案情,即他是盜竊該些未付款物品,而非忘記了付款。如被告依然堅持是忘記付款的話,申請自簽守行為在技術上有一定困難。

即便如此,如律師可以在信中提供合適及具說服力的解釋或證據,則依然有機會以自簽守行為方式處理,甚至直接不提證供起訴即直接撤控。

而如控方依然不同意守行為處理的話,真正忘記付款的被告,依然有機會在法庭內不認罪抗辯,在審訊時作供或陳詞遊說法庭他是忘記付款而非存心盜竊,法庭接納解釋的話可判以無罪釋放。

 

如你或家人朋友不幸成為店舖盜竊的被告,而希望經驗豐富的刑事律師給予緊急的法律意見,申請自簽守行為或在各級法院抗辯或上訴,可以聯絡本行的Whatsapp熱線 6103 0006或電郵本行安排免費諮詢。

zh_HKHK