Compulsory Sale of Land for Redevelopment in Hong Kong

0 +
Buildings that are over 50 years old
Under 0 years
Expected lifespan of HK residential buildings

Hong Kong has undergone significant development over the past century. In the decades following World War II, the economy experienced tremendous growth, resulting in the construction of numerous buildings.

Many of these building structures have now reached the age of 50 years or older, and many of them have been poorly maintained, posing a threat to the safety of both residents and pedestrians.

These older buildings typically have fewer stories, and given the high population density of Hong Kong, there is a strong incentive for their demolition and redevelopment.

According to the Land (Compulsory Sale for Redevelopment) Ordinance (Cap. 545), developers or majority owners who hold between 80% and 90% of the undivided shares in a property are eligible to make an application for an order of compulsory sale to the Lands Tribunal.

Can I object to an order for compulsory sale?

When the Lands Tribunal determines whether an order for compulsory sale should be granted, according to Section 4(2)(a) of the Land (Compulsory Sale for Redevelopment) Ordinance, they consider the age and state of repair of the building to decide whether it should be redeveloped. The majority owner, the applicant, must prove that they have taken reasonable steps yet failed to acquire the remaining shares.

In regards to the state of repair, evidence from an expert witness is typically presented to the court by the majority owner. Common evidence includes reports from building surveyors or structural engineers, which detail the deterioration and defects that affect the structural safety of the buildings and, if repairs are necessary, the exorbitant cost. As the respondent, minority owners are entitled to provide evidence from an expert witness to prove the structural safety of the buildings, and as residents, minority owners may also provide factual evidence.

Furthermore, majority owners are responsible for taking reasonable steps to acquire the remaining shares from minority owners, including offering a fair and reasonable acquisition offer.

If the majority owner is unable to convince the court that the building is in need of redevelopment or that they have taken reasonable steps to acquire remaining shares, the Lands Tribunal may refuse the compulsory sale order.

Can I contest the acquisition price set by the majority owner?

As per the Land (Compulsory Sale for Redevelopment) Ordinance (Cap. 545), prior to submitting an application for a Compulsory Sale Order, the majority owner must engage a surveyor to prepare a Valuation Report. This report must include the Existing Use Value (EUV) of each apartment, as well as an estimated Redevelopment Value (RDV) to be included in the formal application to the Lands Tribunal and provided to the minority owners. If a compulsory sale order is granted, a public auction will be held for the sale of the relevant lots, with the reserve price being set by the Lands Tribunal with reference to the potential for redevelopment.

In practice, the reserve price will typically be slightly higher than the Redevelopment Value, and the property will be sold at the reserve price during the auction.

Therefore, if the acquisition price is lower than the fair and reasonable Redevelopment Value, minority owners should decline further negotiation and raise objections with the Lands Tribunal.

As a minority owner, should I hire a lawyer to object to an order for compulsory sale or to negotiate for a higher acquisition price?

For most minority owners, not only is their property their most significant asset, but it has also served as their home for an long time. It is normal for them to feel worried and upset upon being requested to sell and leave their home without reason.

Since compulsory sale proceedings involve complicated legal procedure and ordinances, and the majority owners are often represented by a large team of lawyers, it would be unfavorable for minority owners not to hire lawyers familiar with the legal proceedings of compulsory sale.

Therefore, once they have received documents related to compulsory sale, minority owners should consult with lawyers as soon as possible, and have lawyers represent them for further negotiation with majority owners and court hearings at the Lands Tribunal.

Is it expensive to hire a lawyer?

Most people are be concerned about the legal fees of instructing a lawyer. However, generally speaking, majority owners are responsible for the legal fees of the minority owners based on the "compensation approach" according to Good Faith Properties. The legal fees (including the fees for evidence of an expert witness such as a Valuation Report) can be claimed from the Respondent when the lawsuit is settled.

Therefore, minority owners do not have to worry to much about the legal fees.

The most crucial focus should be on finding an appropriate legal representative to deal with the often fast-paced legal proceedings.

Conclusion

No one desires a lawsuit, but compulsory sale cases may arise unexpectedly.

However, compulsory sale proceedings are not as terrifying as imagined and the legal fee is not as expensive. If you are able to find a responsible and experienced lawyer, the issues can be resolved and you will be reasonably compensated.

Mr. Eric P H Chan, CPH Legal's principal solicitor, is experienced in representing minority owners in compulsory sale cases. He has been assigned as the co-ordinating lawyer of several minority owners by the Lands Tribunal, and has successfully obtained reasonable compensation for clients.

If you are involved in an order for compulsory sale case, you might consider consulting our legal team to protect your legal rights.

If you or your family member/friend have been involved in a Compulsory Sale Order lawsuit, you can consult us for free via our WhatsApp hotline 6103 0006 or email us to set up a free WhatsApp consultation.

en_GBEN

強制售賣 (強拍) 法律概覽

0 +
50年高齡樓宇數目
少於約 0
香港樓宇預計壽命

香港發展過百年,二戰後的數十年間,香港經濟起飛,樓宇在市區如雨後春筍發展。

然而,隨時間推移,大量樓宇已達50年樓齡甚至更高。部分「高齡」舊樓甚至日久失修,危害住戶及途人安全。

除此之外,香港地少人多,因舊樓普遍樓層較少,這就為社會提供了將舊樓拆卸重建的發展誘因。

根據香港法律第545章《土地(為重新發展而強制售賣)條例》,當發展商或「大業主」擁有地段的80%至90%的不分割份數業權,可向土地審裁處申請強制售賣令(Compulsory Sale Order)。

我可以反對發出強制售賣令(強拍令) 嗎?

土地審裁處考慮是否批出強制售賣令時,根據上述強拍條例的第4(2)(a)條,會考慮樓宇本身的樓齡 (age) 及其維修狀況 (state of repair),應當重新發展,而大業主身為申請人亦需證明自己已採取合理步驟但仍未能成功收購餘下業權。

就樓宇維修狀況,大業主一方通常會將專家證據呈堂,常見專家證據例如建築測量師及結構工程師的證據,會講述樓宇各處的結構問題,以及如需要一一維修的話,費用不菲。反之,小業主身為答辯人,亦可提出專家證據證明樓宇結構依然健康及安全,除了專家證據,身為住戶的小業主,也可考慮提供事實證據說明相關事宜。

除此以外,大業主亦由責任採取合理步驟嘗試向小業主收購業權,包括提出公平及合理價值的收購要約。

如大業主未能說服法庭樓宇狀況應當重新發展,或未有採取合理步驟嘗試收購餘下業權,土地審裁處可駁回大業主強拍命令的申請。

我可以挑戰大業主提出的收購價格嗎?

大業主在申請強制售賣令前的3個月內,需要聘用測量師擬備估值報告 (Valuation Report),報告內容列明有關地段上各單位的現用值 (Existing Use Value, EUV),以及在正式申請時擬備重建地價報告列明重建地價 (Redevelopment Value, RDV),向土地審裁處及一眾小業主提交。如土地審裁處批出強拍令的話,相關地段將會進行公開拍賣,而根據上述強拍條例的附表2,土地審裁處釐定拍賣底價,需參考地段本身的重新發展潛力。

實際而言,土地審裁處批出強拍令時,拍賣底價通常定於比土地審裁處認為該地段的重建地價稍微高一點的水平。而根據市場慣例,通常這類強拍物業在拍賣時會以此拍賣底價賣出。

因此,如大業主提出的收購價格低於公平及合理的重建價值的話,小業主應該拒絕接受並進一步談判,並在土地審裁處提出反對。

身為小業主,我應該請律師反對強拍或爭取較高收購價格嗎?

對不少小業主而言,手上物業既是自己最重大資產,亦是自己居住多年的家園。無緣無故被要求出賣及離開自己的家,小業主容易惶恐及情緒低落。

然而,強拍涉及複雜的法律程序及條文,而且大業主一方往往由龐大律師團隊代表,如小業主一方不聘用熟悉強拍法律程序的律師的話,會令自己處於極度不利的位置。

因此,絕大部分情況下,小業主收到強拍相關的法律文件後,應該盡快諮詢律師的法律意見,並由律師代表與大業主一方談判以及在土地審裁處出庭抗辯。

請律師費用昂貴嗎?

市民大眾常擔心聘用律師的話,律師費用一定昂貴。其實,根據高等法院上訴庭在Good Faith Properties案裁定,基於賠償原則,在強拍案件,一般而言大業主要負責小業主的律師費用。換言之,小業主花費的律師費用 (以及專家報告例如測量師報告的費用),在結案時可以向大業主追回。

有鑑於此,在絕大部分情況下,小業主實在不用擔心律師費用問題。

更重要的重點是要盡快物色合適的代表律師,以便應付節奏明快的強拍法律程序。

結論

無人希望惹上官司,但即使你只希望安居樂業,強拍案件隨時找上門。

然而,強拍法律程序沒後想象中可怕,律師費亦沒有想像中昂貴,只要找到富經驗及具責任心的律師,一樣可以順利處理,最終獲得合理賠償。

CPH Legal的陳柏豪律師有代表小業主處理強拍案件的經驗,亦曾在強拍案件獲土地審裁處委任眾多小業主的統籌律師,統籌所有小業主的溝通及聯絡事宜,並為當事人取得合理賠償。

如你也面臨強拍法律程序,可考慮盡快諮詢本行律師,以保障你的法律權益。

如你或家人朋友面臨強拍法律程序,而希望經驗豐富的律師給予法律意見,以及在土地審裁處代表出庭,可以聯絡本行的Whatsapp熱線 6103 0006或電郵本行安排免費WhatsApp諮詢。

zh_HKHK